USRowing Names 2019 Under 19 National Team

PRINCETON, N.J. – USRowing is pleased to announce the 59-person roster of the 2019 Under 19 National Team that will compete at the 2019 World Rowing Junior Championships August 7-11 in Tokyo, Japan.

The U.S. will have 14 crews competing at the five-day regatta. Events include the men’s and women’s single sculls, double sculls, quadruple sculls, pair, four, four with coxswain, and eight.

The roster includes 14 athletes returning from the 2018 Under 19 National Team including Julia Abbruzzese, Julia Braz, Alexander DeGrado, Delaney Evans, Michael Fairley, Gabrielle Graves, Chase Haskell, Samantha Henriksen, Heidi Jacobson, Travis Keating, Greg Le Meur, John Mark Ozaeta, Harrison Schofield and Zachary Vachal.

Last year, the U.S. led the medal table with seven at the 2018 World Rowing Junior Championships in Racice, Czech Republic. The women’s four and men’s single sculls won gold, while the women’s pair, men’s four with coxswain, men’s eight and women’s eight won silver. The women’s four with coxswain brought home a bronze medal.

The U.S. roster includes athletes from 15 states. California claims 11 athletes on the U19 roster, while Florida and New York each have eight.

Complete press coverage, athlete bios and links to event information will be available at and Follow along with the U.S. Under 19 National Team as it prepares for the 2019 World Rowing Junior Championships by using the hashtags #WRJChamps and #WRJChamps19.

2019 U.S. Under 19 National Team Roster (Boat lineups are subject to change.)
Name (Hometown) – Affiliation

Men’s Single Sculls
Nicholas Aronow (Laurel Hollow, N.Y.) – Oak Neck Academy

Women’s Single Sculls
Katelin Gildersleeve (Dallas, Texas) – Oklahoma City High Performance Center

Men’s Double Sculls
(s) Gil Dexter (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) – Saratoga Rowing Association
(b) Peter Lawry (Alplaus, N.Y.) – Saratoga Rowing Association

Women’s Double Sculls
(s) Taylor English (La Claire, Ill.) – Y Quad Cities Rowing
(b) Delaney Evans (Bettendorf, Iowa) – Y Quad Cities Rowing

Men’s Quadruple Sculls
(s) Austin Lai (Oakland, Calif.) – Oakland Athletic Rowing Society
(3) Malakai Leon (Sarasota, Fla.) – Sarasota Crew
(2) August Altucher (Portland, Ore.) – Oregon Rowing Unlimited
(b) Theory Millar (Topanga, Calif.) – California Yacht Club

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
(s) Hailey Mead (Orinda, Calif.) – Redwood Scullers
(3) Graciella Leon (West Palm Beach, Fla.) – Miami International RowHouse
(2) Brenna Morley (Bettendorf, Iowa) – Y Quad Cities Rowing
(b) Audrey Lyda (Pittsburgh, Pa.) – Three Rivers Rowing Association

Men’s Pair
(s) Adam Campain (Ann Arbor, Mich.) – Ann Arbor Huron High School
(b) David Edington (Portland, Ore.) – Rose City Rowing Club

Women’s Pair
(s) Heidi Jacobson (Greenwich, Conn.) – Connecticut Boat Club
(b) Kylie Oakes (Vero Beach, Fla.) – Treasure Coast Rowing Club

Men’s Four
(s) Erik Spinka (Southport, Conn.) – Fairfield Prep
(3) Alexander DeGrado (Jacksonville, Fla.)  – Sarasota Crew
(2) Owen Corr (Sarasota, Fla.) – Sarasota Crew
(b) Zachary Vachal (San Francisco, Calif.) – Pacific Rowing Club

Women’s Four
(s) Julia Abbruzzese (Ridgefield, Conn.) – Connecticut Boat Club
(3) Isabella Battistoni (Issaquah, Wash.) – Holy Names Academy
(2) Julia Braz (Sarasota, Fla.) – Sarasota Crew
(b) Katherine Kelly (Vashon Island, Wash.) – Burton Beach Rowing Club

Men’s Four with Coxswain
(c) Elizabeth Romero (Pleasant Hill, Calif.) – Oakland Strokes
(s) Michael Fairley (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) – Saratoga Rowing Association
(3) Chase Haskell (Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.) – The Bolles School
(2) Pablo Matan (San Jose, Calif.) – Los Gatos Rowing Club
(b) Jackson Stone (West Newton, Mass.) – Belmont Hill School

Women’s Four with Coxswain
(c) Carina Baxter (El Dorado Hills, Calif.) – Capital Crew
(s) Lindsey Rust (Roslyn, N.Y.) – Friends of Port Rowing
(3) Morgan Linsley (Princeton, N.J.) – Princeton National Rowing Association/Mercer
(2) Aidan Wrenn-Walz (Arlington, Va.) – Washington-Lee Crew/Potomac Boat Club
(b) Alena Criss (Baldwinsville, N.Y.) – Baldwinsville Crew

Men’s Eight
(c) Audrey Gates (Orinda, Calif.) – Oakland Strokes
(s) Harrison Schofield (Sarasota, Fla.) – Sarasota Crew
(7) Jacob Hudgins (Andover, Mass.) – Phillips Academy Andover
(6) John Mark Ozaeta (Moraga, Calif.) – Oakland Strokes
(5) Ian Burnett (Arlington, Mass.) – Community Rowing, Inc.
(4) James Patton (Houston, Texas) – Deerfield Academy Crew
(3) Travis Keating (Placerville Calif.) – Capital Crew
(2) Savas Koutsouras (Culver, Ind.) – Culver Academies
(b) Greg Le Meur (San Francisco, Calif.) – Pacific Rowing Club

Women’s Eight
(c) Hannah Diaz (Seattle, Wash.) – Holy Names Academy
(s) Violet Barletta (Weston, Mass.) – St. Paul’s School
(7) Julietta Camahort (San Francisco, Calif.) – Marin Rowing Association
(6) Mia Levy (Des Moines, Iowa) – Phillips Academy Andover
(5) Samantha Henriksen (Chicago, Ill.) – Chicago Rowing Foundation
(4) Gabrielle Graves (Vashon, Wash.) – Burton Beach Rowing Club
(3) Lettice Cabot (Cambridge, Mass.) – The Winsor School
(2) Megan Lee (Natick, Mass.) – Newton Country Day School Crew
(b) Greta Filor (Rye, N.Y.) – RowAmerica Rye

Kate Edwards (Seattle, Wash.) – Seattle Rowing Center
Ryan Link (Burke, Va.) – Gonzaga College High School
Bonnie Pushner (Fairfield, Conn.) – Saugatuck Rowing Club
Grant Stephanz (Larchmont, N.Y.) – RowAmerica Rye
Angela Szabo (Sarasota, Fla.) – Sarasota Crew

Chris Chase, Men’s Four with Coxswain
Reilly Dampeer, Women’s Single Sculls
Brian de Regt, Men’s Pair
Brian Ebke, Women’s Eight
Jesse Foglia, Men’s Eight
Casey Galvanek, Men’s Single Sculls/Men’s Four
Caitlin McClain, Women’s Quadruple Sculls/Women’s Sculling Alternate
Justin Ochal, Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Marko Serafimovski, Women’s Four with Coxswain/Women’s Sweep Alternates
Sarah Tinsley, Men’s Double Sculls
Liz Trond, Women’s Pair/Women’s Four
Jamie Whalen, Women’s Double Sculls

Support Staff
Dr. Kathryn Ackerman, Team Doctor
Maeve Berry, Team Press Officer
Will Daly, Team Leader
Liz Fusco, Team Dietician
Nicholas Haley, Team Leader
Steve Hargis, Director, U19 High Performance Programs
Kaitlin Jackson, Team Physical Therapist
Brett Johnson, Team Press Officer
Patrick McNerney, NGB Delegate
Laura Moretti, Team Dietician

We like these companies
Sponsors & Partners