USRowing Names Camp-Selected Boats for 2018 World Rowing Championships

With the conclusion of the 2018 Senior National Team selection camps, USRowing is pleased to announce the camp-selected boats that will represent the United States at the 2018 World Rowing Championships September 8-16 in Plovdiv, Bulgaria.

Located in Princeton, N.J., the women’s training center selects the women’s quadruple sculls, four and eight, while the men’s training center, based in Oakland, Calif., selects the men’s four and eight. The para-rowing selection camp, based in Boston, Mass., selects the PR3 mixed four with coxswain. Countless hours of training on and off the water, seat-racing, and preparation have resulted in these 35 athletes getting the call to represent the U.S.

Of the camp boats named today, 25 athletes represented the U.S. at the 2017 World Rowing Championships. Coxswain Katelin Guregian and Emily Regan return to the women’s eight that finished fourth in 2017. After racing together in the pair at World Rowing Cup III earlier this month, Erin Reelick and Molly Bruggeman return to the women’s four, which also placed fourth in Sarasota. Maureen McAuliffe, Emily Huelskamp and Elizabeth Sonshine return to the quad, hoping to build off of last year’s fifth-place finish.

Coxswain Jenny Sichel, Dani Hansen and Mike Varro all return to the PR3 mixed four with coxswain that won a silver medal at the 2017 World Rowing Championships. Hansen and Sichel also were in the boat that won a silver medal at the 2016 Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The men’s eight won a silver medal at the 2017 World Championships, one of the highlights for the team. Coxswain Julian Venonsky, Patrick Eble, Andrew Reed, Tom Peszek and Alex Karwoski return to the eight with the goal of building upon their success in 2017. Alex Richards is the only returning member of the 2017 men’s four that will race in 2018.

Nine boats have already been named to the 2018 National Team by way of the first set of national team trials or their performance at the world cups. The women’s single sculls and lightweight women’s double sculls earned their spots on the team by winning their respective national selection regatta and then placing in the top six at a world cup race. The lightweight men’s and women’s single sculls, men’s and women’s double sculls, PR1 men’s and women’s single sculls and PR2 mixed double sculls earned their spots on the team through trials.

The full 2018 Senior National Team will be named following the conclusion of Senior & Para Trials II scheduled for August 5-8. The boats that will round out the national team through Trials II include the men’s single sculls, lightweight men’s double sculls, men’s and women’s pair, lightweight men’s and women’s pair, men’s quadruple sculls, lightweight men’s and women’s quadruple sculls, PR2 men’s and women’s single sculls, PR3 mixed double sculls, and PR3 men’s and women’s pair.

The camp-selected boats are as follow (lineups subject to change):

Men’s Eight
(c) Julian Venonsky (Malvern, Pa./University of California, Berkeley)
Patrick Eble (Fort Washington, Pa./Princeton University)
Andrew Reed (Wayland, Mass./Harvard University)
Mike DiSanto (Boston, Mass./Harvard University)
Conor Harrity (Weston, Mass./Harvard University)
Tom Dethlefs (Lawrenceville, N.J./Yale University)
Tom Peszek (Farmington Hills, Mich./University of Michigan)
Glenn Ochal (Philadelphia, Pa./Princeton University)
Alex Karwoski (Moultonborough, N.H./Cornell University)

Women’s Eight
(c) Katelin Guregian (Detroit, Mich./University of Washington)
Olivia Coffey (Watkins Glen, N.Y./Harvard University)
Kristine O’Brien (Massapequa Park, NY/University of Virginia)
Tracy Eisser (Fair Lawn, N.J./Cornell University)
Dana Moffat (Manlius, N.Y./University of California, Berkeley)
Felice Mueller (Cleveland, Ohio/University of Michigan)
Emily Regan (Buffalo, N.Y./Michigan State University)
Gia Doonan (Rochester, Mass./University of Texas)
Vicky Opitz (Middleton, Wis./University of Wisconsin)

Men’s Four
Michael Clougher (Canton, Mass./Connecticut College)
Alexander Richards (Watertown, Mass./Harvard University)
Nick Mead (Strafford, Pa./Princeton University)
Dariush Aghai (Skokie, Ill./University of Wisconsin)

Women’s Four
Erin Reelick (Brookfield, Conn./Princeton University)
Molly Bruggeman (Dayton, Ohio/University of Notre Dame)
Erin Boxberger (Overland Park, Kan./University of Notre Dame)
Madeline Wanamaker (Neenah, Wis./University of Wisconsin)

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Kara Soucek (McCall, Idaho/Gonzaga University)
Maureen McAuliffe (Herndon, Va./George Mason University)
Emily Huelskamp (Sainte Genevieve, Mo./Wheaton College)
Elizabeth Sonshine (Short Hills, N.J./Bates College)

PR3 Mixed Four with Coxswain
(c) Jenny Sichel (Clifton, N.J./Bryn Mawr College)
Dani Hansen (Patterson, Calif./University of Washington)
Charley Nordin (Alameda, Calif./Gonzaga University)
Mike Varro (Spooner, Wis./University of Minnesota)
Allie Reilly (North Kingstown, R.I./University of Rhode Island)

Thirteen Crews Selected as 2018 U19, U23, Para and Senior Trials I Wraps Up

Lightweight Women’s Double, Women’s Single Named to World Championships Team

We like these companies
Sponsors & Partners