U.S. Names 2018 Under 23 National Team

PRINCETON, N.J. — USRowing is pleased to announce the 72-person roster of the 2018 Under 23 National Team that will compete at the 2018 World Rowing Under 23 Championships July 25-29 in Poznan, Poland.

The U.S. will have 22 crews competing at the five-day event. Events include the men’s and women’s single sculls, lightweight single sculls, double sculls, lightweight double sculls, quadruple sculls, lightweight quadruple sculls, pair, lightweight pair, four, four with coxswain, and eight.

The Poznan roster includes 19 athletes returning from the 2017 Under 23 National Team including Elise Beuke, Chris Carlson, Claire Collins, Ben Davison, Olivia Farrar, James Francis, Michael Grady, Meghan Gutknecht, Janice Hagerman, Emily Kallfelz, Brigid Kennedy, Arne Landboe, Danny Madden, Reilly Milne, Brooke Pierson, Jacob Plihal, Alison Rusher, Leigh Warner, and Carlisle Wheeler.

The U.S. won five medals at the 2017 World Rowing Under 23 Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The women’s eight and lightweight men’s four won silver medals, while the women’s single sculls, women’s pair, and men’s four with coxswain won bronze medals.

The U.S. roster includes athletes from 20 states, plus the District of Columbia. Washington claims 15 of the athletes making up the U23 roster. Twenty-eight colleges and universities are represented on the roster, with the University of Washington leading the way with 12 team members.

Complete press coverage, athlete bios and links to event information will be available at www.usrowing.org and www.worldrowing.com. Follow along with the U.S. Under 23 National Team as it prepares for the 2018 World Rowing Under 23 Championships by using the hashtag #WRU23Champs.

2018 U.S. Under 23 National Team Roster (Boat lineups are subject to change.)
Name (Hometown) – College/University

Men’s Single Sculls
Ben Davison (Inverness, Fla.) – University of Washington

Women’s Single Sculls
Emily Kallfelz (Jamestown, R.I.) – Princeton University

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Zachary Heese (Pelham, N.Y.) – University of Virginia

Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Brigid Kennedy (East Greenwich, R.I.) – Harvard University

Men’s Double Sculls
(s) Evan Dwinell (Tallahassee, Fla.) – Dartmouth College
(b) Joshua Bilchik (Brookline, Mass.) – Bates College

Women’s Double Sculls
(s) Ashley Johnson (Buffalo, N.Y.) – Syracuse University
(b) Sydney Michalak (Peterborough, N.H.) – Syracuse University

Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls
(s) Artym Hayda (Providence, R.I.) – Georgetown University
(b) Thomas Satterthwaite (Cranston, R.I.) – Harvard University

Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
(s) Isabella Garcia-Camargo (Seattle, Wash.) – Stanford University
(b) Sophia Denison-Johnston (Berkeley, Calif.) – University of California, Los Angeles

Men’s Quadruple Sculls
(s) Alexandr Lilichenko (Orinda, Calif.) – University of California, Berkeley
(3) Jacob Plihal (Vashon Island, Wash.) – Northeastern University
(2) Jesse Maritz (Stanwood, Wash.) – Oregon State University
(b) Baxter Call (Vashon Island, Wash.) – Oregon State University

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
(s) Claire Campbell (New Canaan, Conn.) – Dartmouth University
(3) Isabella Strickler (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) – University of Virginia
(2) Megan Hinkle (Troy, Ohio) – University of Michigan
(b) Arianna Lee (Folsom, Calif.) – Syracuse University

Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Chase Deitner (Perth, Australia) – University of Washington
Jimmy Francis (St. Louis, Mo.) – Oklahoma City University
Danny Madden (New Rochelle, N.Y.) – Manhattan College
Sam Melvin (Costa Mesa, Calif.) – Orange Coast College

Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Olivia Farrar (Pittsford, N.Y.) – Harvard University
Janice Hagerman (Boxford, Mass.) – Boston University
Grace Joyce (Northfield, Ill.) – University of Wisconsin
Elizabeth Ray (Miami, Fla.) – Columbia University

Men’s Pair
(s) Aidan Bridwell (Redding, Conn.) – Northeastern University
(b) Louis Pratt (Arlington, Mass.) – Northeastern University

Women’s Pair
(s) Alina Hagstrom (Seattle, Wash.) – Oregon State University
(b) Regina Salmons (Methuen, Mass.) – University of Pennsylvania

Lightweight Men’s Pair
(s) Luke Smith (Tampa, Fla.) – Colgate University
(b) Alexandar Damjanovic (Alexandria, Va.) – Colgate University

Lightweight Women’s Pair
(s) Caroline O’Brien (Darien, Conn.) – Georgetown University
(b) Sarah Maietta (Wayland, Mass.) – Boston University

Men’s Four
(s) Alexander Wallis (Cupertino, Calif.) – University of California, Berkeley
(3) Andrew Knoll (Greenback, Tenn.) – United States Naval Academy
(2) Hunter Hodges (Seattle, Wash.) – University of California, Berkeley
(b) Eli Maesner (Redmond, Wash.) – University of Washington

Women’s Four
Meghan Gutknecht (Guilderland, N.Y.) – University of Michigan
Niamh Martin (Seattle, Wash.) – University of Wisconsin
Teresa Rokos (Pasadena, Calif.) – Harvard University
Chase Shepley (Crystal Lake, Ill.) – Stanford University

Men’s Four with Coxswain
(c) Woods Connell (Bethesda, Md.) – Yale University
Peter Arata (Bellevue, Wash.) – Northeastern University
William Creedon (Denver, Colo.) – University of California, Berkeley
Viggo Hoite (Berkeley, Calif.) – Brown University
Alex Miklasevich (Pittsburgh, Pa.) – Brown University

Women’s Four with Coxswain
(c) Izzi Weiss (Chicago, Ill.) – University of Virginia
Sarah Johanek (Cleveland, Ohio) – Rutgers University
Samantha Lamos (Petaluma, Calif.) – University of California, Berkeley
Jennifer Mundelius (Danville, Calif.) – Brown University
Carlisle Wheeler (Brewster, Mass.) – University of California, Los Angeles

Men’s Eight
(c) Rielly Milne (Woodinville, Wash.) – University of Washington
(s) Andrew Gaard (Madison, Wis.) – University of Washington
(7) Michael Grady (Pittsburgh. Pa.) – Cornell University
(6) Sam Halbert (Redmond, Wash.) – University of Washington
(5) Madison Molitor (Moses Lake, Wash.) – University of Washington
(4) Arne Landboe (Shoreline, Wash.) – University of Washington
(3) Chris Carlson (Bedford, N.H.) – University of Washington
(2) Justin Best (Kennett Square Pa.) – Drexel University
(b) Brennan Wertz (Mill Valley, Calif.) – Stanford University

Women’s Eight
(c) Leigh Warner (Portland, Ore.) – Stanford University
(s) Brooke Pierson (Alexandria, Va.) – University of Washington
(7) Elise Beuke (Sequim, Wash.) – University of Washington
(6) Marlee Blue (Seattle, Wash.) – University of Washington
(5) Alison Rusher (West Bend, Wis.) – Stanford University
(4) Kaitlyn Kynast (Ridgefield, Conn.) – Stanford University
(3) Claire Collins (McLean, Va.) – Princeton University
(2) Liliane Lindsay (Harrison, N.Y.) – Yale University
(b) Hadley Irwin (Washington, D.C.) – Princeton University

Michael Callahan, Coach, Men’s Eight
Megan Carcagno, Coach, Women’s Eight
Carlos Dinares, Coach, Men’s Four
Malcolm Doldron, Coach, Lightweight Women’s Pair/Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Sergio Espinoza, Coach, Men’s Four with Coxswain
Hilary Gehman, Coach, Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Brett Gorman, Coach, Women’s Pair
Justin Jones, Coach, Men’s Pair
Andrew Kallfelz, Coach, Women’s Single Sculls
Skip Kielt, Coach, Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Alan Kush, Coach, Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Richard Parr, Coach, Men’s Quadruple Sculls
David Ringham, Coach, Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls/ Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Kathryn Ruderman, Coach, Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls
Khaled Sanad, Coach, Lightweight Men’s Pair
Samantha Warren, Coach, Women’s Double Sculls
Rob Weber, Coach, Women’s Four/Women’s Four with Coxswain
Stephen Whelpley, Coach, Men’s Single Sculls/Men’s Double Sculls

Support Staff
Dan Brauchli, Team Press Officer
Will Daly, Team Leader
Liz Fusco, Team Dietician
Brett Johnson, Team Press Officer
Deirdre McLoughlin, Team Physical Therapist
Liz Soutter, Team Leader
Dr. Peter Wenger, Team Doctor

We like these companies
Sponsors & Partners