USRowing Celebrates Seventh Annual Golden Oars Awards

NEW YORK, N.Y. — USRowing and the National Rowing Foundation came together on Nov. 15 for a celebration of American rowing at the seventh annual Golden Oars Awards Dinner at the New York Athletic Club in New York, N.Y. Proceeds from the event support the national team.

USRowing’s 2017 Awards of Excellence were presented to individuals for their outstanding service to the sport of rowing in the past year. Recipients include Jim Joy, USRowing Medal of Honor; T. Gary Rogers, John J. Carlin Service Award; John Chatzky, Jack Kelly Award; Arshay Cooper, Anita DeFrantz Award; Jeff McGinnis, Isabel Bohn Award; Ellen Tomek, Female Athlete of the Year; and Andrew Reed, Male Athlete of the Year.

Jim Joy received a standing ovation upon his acceptance of the USRowing Medal of Honor for his continuous contributions to the sport.

“I feel very humbled and overwhelmed in receiving this honor, but I’ll take it,” Joy said. “Who would have thought, in 1951, that this peanut-sized, 119 lb. athlete would become an oarsman,” he added candidly.

Jeff McGinnis, another native to the Schuylkill, was honored with the Isabel Bohn Award for his work with adaptive rowing.

“I know, right now, there is a person out there—a veteran, a patient at Walter Reed—who is in a dark place and with rowing, we can literally change the arc of their life,” McGinnis said. “Everyone is this room knows what remarkable things the sport can do for people, and what the sport has done for them.”

With an electrifying acceptance speech, Anita DeFrantz award winner, Arshay Cooper reflected on how his life has been changed for the better by the sport of rowing.

“The moment I wrapped my hands around those oars, my life was never the same,” Cooper proclaimed. “It’s ok to look back [on life] as long as you keep moving forward, and no one understands that quite like a rower.”

Additionally, Andy Rogers, tearfully accepted the John J. Carlin Service Award on behalf of his late father T. Gary Rogers.

The 2017 Fan’s Choice Awards were presented to seven outstanding members of the rowing community, voted on by their peers. Winners of these awards were, Junior Athlete of the Year, Kaitlin Kynast; Collegiate Athlete of the Year, Austin Treubert; Masters Athlete of the Year, Simon Borchelt; National Team Athlete of the Year, Meghan O’Leary; Junior Coach of the Year, Oksana Tsimbalova; Collegiate Coach of the Year, Paul Savell; and Masters Coach of the Year, Anna Cherednikova.

The 2017 Golden Oars Awards were made possible with the support of Gold Medal Sponsors: John Chatzky, the Jordan Company and One Equity Partners. Bronze Level Sponsors included, Michael Brown, Cambridge Semantics, Hospital for Special Surgery, Row2k and William H. Walton, III.

Click here for a full event gallery.

Article written by Elise Gorberg and Dan Brauchli, and

1 of 4
2 of 4
3 of 4
4 of 4
We like these companies
Sponsors & Partners