HomeSkip Navigation LinksNews

All News

All news

Thirteen Crews to Represent U.S. at 2011 World Rowing Junior Championships

August 01, 2011

Thirteen crews will represent the United States at the 2011 World Rowing Junior Championships August 3-7 in Eton, Great Britain.

In total, 578 athletes in 199 crews from 48 nations will compete for world championships in the junior men’s single sculls, women’s single sculls, men’s double sculls, women’s double sculls, men’s quadruple sculls, women’s quadruple sculls, men’s pair, women’s pair, men’s four, women’s four, men’s four with coxswain, men’s eight and women’s eight.

The men’s single sculls and men’s double sculls lead the way in number of entries with 25 each.

Racing begins Wednesday at 5 p.m. local time with heats in the men’s four and women’s quadruple sculls. The remaining heats, as well as repechages from Wednesday’s events, take place on Thursday. The remaining repechages, quarterfinals and select semifinals take place Friday.

Saturday’s racing features finals in the women’s four, men’s four with coxswain, women’s pair, men’s four, women’s quadruple sculls and men’s eight, while Sunday’s racing features finals in the men’s pair, women’s double sculls, men’s double sculls, men’s quadruple sculls, women’s single sculls, men’s single sculls and women’s eight.

At the 2010 World Rowing Junior Championships, the U.S. brought home a record four medals including gold in the men’s eight, silver in the women’s eight and women’s four, and bronze in the men’s single sculls.

Sixteen athletes return from the 2010 Junior National Team including six medalists. Zachary Hershberger won gold in the men’s eight and is the lone returning member of that crew. After winning silver in the women’s four, Chandler Lally, Jessica Eiffert and Lucy Grinalds return to try to improve on that performance with newcomer Mia Croonquist. Silver medalist Christine Devlin will cox an entire boat of newcomers in the women’s eight, while Rosemary Grinalds, a silver medalist with Devlin last year, will row the women’s pair. Other returning team members include Graham Anderson, Charles Campbell, Patrick Eble, Michael Evans, Sophie Heywood, Alex Johnson, Max Meyer-Bosse, Hannah Solis-Cohen, Eliza Spilsbury (injured, did not compete) and Elizabeth Youngling.

For more information, roster and athlete bios, visit

USRowing is a nonprofit organization recognized by the United States Olympic Committee as the governing body for the sport of rowing in the United States. USRowing’s official suppliers include Boathouse Sports, Vespoli, WinTech Racing, Filippi, Croker Oars, Rudy Project, Concept2, Nielsen Kellerman, PowerHTV and Ludus Tours. USRowing also receives generous support from the National Rowing Foundation and its corporate sponsors, ANXeBusiness Corp and Voxer. For more information, visit USRowing has joined forces with Team Arnstein to help ensure the U.S. Team's success leading up to the 2012 Olympic Games under a new corporate sponsorship campaign, The Row to London. For more information, please visit


Brett Johnson

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark