HomeSkip Navigation LinksNews

All News

All news

The National Rowing Foundation Announces 2014 Hall of Fame Class

April 11, 2014

NORTH STONINGTON, Conn. - The National Rowing Foundation is pleased to announce that 17 outstanding United States athletes and coaches will be inducted into the National Rowing Hall of Fame on May 31, 2014. The inductees have been selected for their achievement as a boat, as individuals and as a patron to our sport. The induction ceremony will take place at the Princeton Marriott at Forrestal in Princeton, N.J. Tickets for the Class of 2014 Induction Ceremony may be purchased online at

“The Class of 2014 being honored for induction into our Rowing Hall of Fame embodies the highest level of achievement in performance, dedication, persistence and contribution to rowing necessary to earn this recognition,” stated Kent Mitchell Chair of NRF Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “In 96 appearances over multiple years in Olympic Games and World Championship competition, these men and women have won 71 medals, 64 of them gold, and rowed their way into the grand finals 94 percent of the time,” said Mitchell. “Hall of Fame induction standards are demanding, each of these honorees has met those standards by open water."

Being inducted for achievement as a boat are the members of the 2008 Olympic gold medalists in the women’s eight and their coach: Erin Cafaro, Lindsay Shoop, Anna Goodale, Eleanor Logan, Anna Mickelson Cummins, Susan Francia, Caroline Lind, Caryn Davies, Mary Whipple Murray and coach Tom Terhaar.

Being inducted for individual achievements are:

  • Porter Collins – Five-time senior national team member, two-time Olympian in the men's eight, world champion in the 1995 men's four and 1998 and 1999 men’s eight.
  • Yasmin “Yaz” Farooq – Eight-time national team member and two-time Olympian, coxswain of the women’s eight for eight consecutive years, world champion in 1995, silver medalist in 1990, 1993 and 1994.
  • Jamie Koven – Eight-time senior national team member and three-time Olympian, world champion in the 1997 men’s single sculls and 1994 men’s eight, bronze medalist at the 1993 and 1995 World Rowing Championships in the men’s eight.
  • Garrett Miller – Four-time senior national team member, 2000 Olympian and world champion in the 1997, 1998 and 1999 men’s eight.
  • Tom Welsh – Three-time senior national team member, 2000 Olympian and world champion in the 1998 and 1999 men’s eight.
  • Michael Wherley – Eight-time senior national team member and two-time Olympian in the men's four, world champion in the 1997, 1998 and 1999 men’s eight, bronze medalist in 2002 men’s eight and silver medalist in the 2003 men’s eight.
Being inducted posthumously as a Patron in the sport of rowing: John “Jack” Sulger, legendary rower and coach from the New York Athletic Club. Jack was a second-generation sculler in America, and a major force in rowing at the national and international level for over 35 years.

About the National Rowing Foundation
The National Rowing Foundation is dedicated to raising funds to support the U.S. National Rowing Teams. Founded in 1966, the NRF has been supporting Olympic athletes for more than four decades. The funds raised support year round training, development, competition and preservation of rowing history through the Hall of Fame and Rowing Museum. More information can be found online at

Mara Keggi Ford, NRF (203) 525-6566, Banner photo Ed Hewitt,

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark