HomeSkip Navigation LinksNews

All News

All news

USRowing Announces Fan’s Choice Awards Finalists; Voting Begins on row2k

September 23, 2013

PRINCETON, N.J. – USRowing maintains a strong and long tradition of rewarding excellence in rowing. Following a year of unprecedented achievement, the rowing community has designated strong nominees for the 2013 Fan’s Choice Awards, which are solely nominated and voted on by rowing fans. After receiving an outpouring of nominations in all categories, USRowing is proud to announce the 2013 finalists. Voting begins today and continues through 5 p.m. EDT on Tuesday, October 15.


Co-sponsored by row2k Media, USRowing Fan’s Choice Awards will be given to an “Athlete of the Year” in the junior, collegiate, masters and national team categories and a “Coach of the Year” in the junior, collegiate and masters category.

2013 Fan’s Choice Finalists

Junior Athlete of the Year

  • Cicely Madden, Community Rowing, Inc.
  • Gabriela Purman, Wayland-Weston
  • Carolina Ratcliff, James Madison
  • Eliza Spilsbury, Kent School
  • Travis Taaffe, Sarasota Crew

Collegiate Athlete of the Year
  • Andrew Campbell, Harvard University
  • Austin Hack, Stanford University
  • Henry Hoffstot, Georgetown University
  • Justin Jones, Northeastern University
  • Kara Kohler, University of California

Masters Athlete of the Year

  • Helmut Berthold, Greater Columbus Rowing Association
  • Aisha Chow, Bair Island Aquatic Center
  • Eve Green, Saugatuck Rowing Club
  • Alex Mastroyannis, Potomac Boat Club
  • Jack Nunn, Long Beach Rowing

National Team Athlete of the Year

  • John Graves, M2x
  • Natalie McCarthy, LTA Mixed 2x
  • Meghan Musnicki, W8+ & W2-
  • Amanda Polk, W8+
  • Seth Weil, M4-

Junior Coach of the Year

  • Ethan Curren, Community Rowing, Inc.
  • Casey Galvanek, Sarasota Crew
  • Conal Groom, Seattle Rowing Center
  • Holly Hatton, Bromfield-Acton/Boxborough Rowing
  • Stephen McKiernan, Boston College High School

Collegiate Coach of the Year

  • Diana Albrecht, Ohio State University
  • Dave O’Neill, University of California
  • Krystina Sarff, University of Florida
  • Charley Sullivan, University of Michigan
  • Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State University

Masters Coach of the Year
  • Marlene Royle, RoyleRow Performance Training Center
  • Deirdre McLoughlin, Marin Rowing Association
  • Jim Wojcik, Bair Island Aquatic Center

The selection committee used the following criteria to determine the finalists:

Athlete of the Year: A male or female rower or coxswain who has achieved extraordinary success in 2013. Success may be defined as an outstanding performance, having a breakout year, perseverance in spite of difficult odds, consistently strong performance, outstanding service off the water, or a combination of the above or other worthy measures.

Coach of the Year: A rowing coach who has achieved extraordinary success in 2013. Success may be defined as outstanding performance, having a breakout year, making a significant impact on an individual athlete or team performance, perseverance in spite of difficult odds, consistent strong performance, or a combination of the above or other worthy measures.

“The nominations in all Fan’s Choice Awards categories once again were outstanding,” said Beth Kohl, USRowing Chief Marketing Officer. “All year, we saw an extra gear in the commitment and performances of rowers and coaches across the country. We were hoping for strong nominations, and the rowing community delivered. Selecting the finalists was challenging, but the committee was inspired by the many amazing stories of perseverance, dedication and going beyond one’s comfort zone. We are proud of our community and are grateful to our partner, row2k Media. Mark your calendar for the Golden Oars Awards Dinner on November 20, when we will honor the 2013 Fan’s Choice winners.“

"The idea of sponsoring a fan's choice awards poll that recognizes a large number of folks who are fully immersed in the sport on a daily basis seemed to me perfect for row2k, and we are looking forward to doing it again this year," said Ed Hewitt, row2k founder and publisher. "The list of nominees and finalists was superb and inspiring; without folks like these giving everything they have, our sport would be very different, and it is great to be part of honoring them."

Fans may vote once in each category. Voting closes at 5 p.m. ET on Tuesday, October 15. Winners will be announced that week and recognized at the 2013 Golden Oars Awards Dinner on November 20 at the New York Athletic Club. Winners also will attend a pre-event meet and greet with 2013 world champions, 2012 Olympians and other award winners. Tickets are available. For more information, visit

Link to past Fan’s Choice Award Winners.

About USRowing

USRowing is a nonprofit organization recognized by the United States Olympic Committee as the governing body for the sport of rowing in the United States. USRowing has 60,000 individual members and 1,200 member organizations – offering rowing programs for all. USRowing’s official suppliers include Concept 2, Croker Oars, Filippi, JanSport, Nielsen Kellerman, Vespoli and WinTech. USRowing also receives generous support from the National Rowing Foundation and its corporate sponsors and partners ANXeBusiness Corp, Boathouse Sports, Citi Women, Connect-A-Dock, EMCVenues, Ludus Tours and Rudy Project. The USRowing National Team program relies on strong partnerships to enable continued success. New opportunities exist to support the teams through the next quadrennial, culminating with the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. America Rows, which supports diversity in rowing, and the USRowing adaptive programs also benefit from corporate support. For more information, visit

About Row2k Media is the world's most popular rowing publication in any medium, covering all aspects of the sport, from ocean rowing to the Olympics and everything in between, 365 days/year.

Brett Johnson,

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark