HomeSkip Navigation LinksNews

All News

All news

Warm Weather Greets Attendees and Presenters at the 2012 USRowing Annual Convention

December 06, 2012

It may have been the beginning of December, but in Oklahoma City, where rowers, coaches, vendors and administrators gathered for four days of meetings and fun at the 2012 USRowing Annual Convention, blue skies and temperatures in the seventies set the scene.

More than 270 registered attendees listened to presentations on coaching education, business, and lessons on training, rowing technique and physiology from national, international and collegiate coaches during 80 different sessions inside the Devon Boathouse and the adjacent Chesapeake Finish Line Tower.

“I am tremendously happy that so many of our leaders and coaches have finally had the opportunity to experience the possibilities that the partnership between the Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation and USRowing has achieved in the past eight years,” said USRowing chief executive officer Glenn Merry, who gave a presentation on the state and direction of USRowing.

“The 2012 convention was a great event, bringing together young coaches taking the basic certification programs and showcasing our new approaches to advanced rowing education with the more experienced among us. To paraphrase our 2012 John J. Carlin Award winner, Dick Bell, this convention gave us the opportunity to look toward the future and the opportunities ahead for USRowing and the sport.”

Sessions included USRowing coaching certification for levels 1, 2, and 3, an afternoon round table presentation on the business of rowing that was broadcast live on USRowing’s Ustream channel, referee meetings and clinics, a junior day and on-the-water coaching sessions with two-time Olympic gold medal head U.S. women’s coach Tom Terhaar and Olympic champion U.S. men’s coach Mike Teti.

The conference’s social event schedule was highlighted by the Annual Awards Reception presented by EMC Venues. Several USRowing awards were presented including the John J. Carlin Service Award, awarded to Dick Bell; Clayton W. Chapman Award, awarded to Tim Royalty; Joan Zandbergen “Mama Z” Award, awarded to Elaine Roden; Julian Wolf Award, awarded to Lloyd McDonald; Man of the Year Award, awarded to Rob Jones; Ernestine Bayer Award (formerly Woman of the Year), awarded to the 2012 U.S. Women’s Eight; and the USRowing Club of the Year Award, awarded to Community Rowing, Inc.

“It was an honor to host the USRowing Annual Convention and Coaches Conference in Oklahoma City’s Boathouse District,” said Mike Knopp, executive director of the Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation and this year’s recipient of the Jack Kelly Award.

“The feedback we’ve heard has been great; people really enjoyed having the sessions at our campus where they could see coaching demonstrations both on the water and in the dynamic propulsion rowing tank. We’re looking forward to welcoming the rowing community back to OKC for events in 2013, when permanent lighting, start gates and various race course improvements will be in place.”

Click here to view a photo gallery of the Oklahoma City Boathouse District and Annual Awards Reception presented by EMC Venues. For video highlights of the 2012 USRowing Annual Convention and Advanced Coaching Conference, click here.

Save the Date! Next year’s conference, hosted by the Pocock Rowing Foundation, is scheduled for Dec. 5-8 in Seattle, Wash., at the Grand Hyatt Seattle.

Ed Moran, Photos by Allison Frederick

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark