2016 Fan's Choice Awards

Vote for the 2016 Collegiate Coach of the Year

USRowing maintains a long tradition of rewarding excellence in rowing. Following a year of unprecedented achievement, the rowing community put forth strong nominees for the 2016 USRowing Fan’s Choice Awards. After receiving an outpouring of nominations in all categories, USRowing is proud to announce the 2016 collegiate coach finalists.

Fans may vote once in each category. Voting closes at midnight E.T. on Monday, October 17. Awardees will be announced on Wednesday, October 19.

Who can become Coach of the Year? A rowing coach who has achieved extraordinary success in 2016. Success may be defined as outstanding performance, having a breakout year, making a significant impact on an individual athlete or team performance, perseverance in spite of difficult odds, consistent strong performance, or a combination of the above or other worthy measures.


About the Finalists:

Andy Foltz, Pacific Lutheran University

Andy Foltz was named head of the women’s program at Pacific Lutheran University in December of 2015. In his first season, he won the Northwest Championships, was named the NWC Coach of the Year and led the program to its first-ever NCAA appearance, where PLU finished fourth overall.

Steve Gladstone, Yale University

Leading the Yale Bulldogs to an almost perfect season, Steve Gladstone’s heavyweight varsity boat was unbeaten in 2016 before finishing second at the IRA National Championship. Gladstone received the 2015 USRowing Medal of Honor.

Mike Holmes, University of California, Santa Barbara

Mike Holmes has been the head of the University of California, Santa Barbara’s rowing team for the past 13 years. The 2016 ACRA Coach of the Year took home five individual medals, two women’s team points trophies and two overall program team points trophies during the 2016 campaign.

Nich Lee Parker, Columbia University

Nich Lee Parker has guided Columbia University’s lightweight program to four consecutive medals at the IRA National Championships including the 2016 national title, the first IRA crown for any Columbia crew since 1929. Columbia posted a 9-1 regular season record and earned the WIT, Geiger and Subin Cups, as well as silver at the EARC Sprints.

Mike Teti, University of California, Berkeley

In his eighth season as the head of the rowing program at the University of California, Berkeley, Mike Teti led the Bears to a historical season capturing team titles at the Pac-12 Championships and the IRA National Championships. The IRA victory was the 17th in program history.


Award voting is intended to be one vote per person from among the extended rowing community and their family and friends; in the event of electronic, hired, or other similar ballot-stuffing attempts, affected votes may be deleted and nominees potentially disqualified.

We like these companies
Sponsors & Partners